Making mac and cheese with my son for Thanksgiving

These couple of past Thanksgivings, we got into the habit of cooking mac & cheese with my younger son, starting from scratch. Either he was invited and committed to bring a dish (and in that case we would make 2, one for him to bring and one for home), or just for us if he was staying home. 

The only concession we make to processed food is the use of Velveeta in the white sauce to make the sauce more creamy. Other than that the white sauce is made from scratch, starting with flour and butter and adding some milk to slowly cook it up and thicken it with a whisk. The best part is that we cook together with my son. I recorded a very short video to remember this quality time cooking with my son. Mac and cheese is not gourmet but is a comfort food that everyone enjoys, specially on colder November days. Cooking it with my son makes it even better and even more comforting.

You can watch this very short video here under or click on it to watch it on YouTube. I hope you enjoy the video, feel free to share it and comment on it and subscribe to my YouTube channel too. 

4 thoughts on “Making mac and cheese with my son for Thanksgiving

Leave a comment